top of page

What is Vastu and Feng Shui?

Ancient wisdoms, such as Feng Shui or Vastu, believe that everything is made up of energy. Even things that we may have considered inanimate are made up of moving molecules and have a life force and vibration of their own. Objects also come “alive” because of how we relate to them, i.e. the memories and associations they trigger. These wisdoms affirm that all of these objects and materials in our homes interact with our own unique energy—either positively or negatively. When you look at your home from this perspective, you can clearly imagine the importance of surrounding yourself with things that you love, whether they are useful, beautiful, have positive personal meaning, or just make you feel good.

Even though you can’t see the energy in a room, many of us feel it. In fact, we have set up events that talks about "Simple Steps to Balancing Energies in your Home and within your Self"

Mindful Interiors
Mindful Designs & Interiors

What is Vastu Shastra?

Vastu: "Vā-a-stu" & Shastra: Sha-sā-trā

Vastu means the dwelling (or habitat) of humans & Gods. Shastra means Science.

Vastu shastra is an ancient science which helps one to get the natural benefits freely offered by the five basic elements of the universe (Cosmos) in which we all live. These basic elements are Aakash (SPACE), Prithvi (EARTH), Jal (WATER), Agni (FIRE), and Vaayu (WIND) which is also known as "PANCH MAHA BHOOTA". Vastu Shastra can be applied by keeping in harmony with these basic five elements of nature.

Vastu Shastra is an edifice science that was developed by our learned ancestors thousands of years ago. Its application today is purely architectural and its principles are based on becoming one with nature. It is all about importance of each of this element and how well we can harmonize the Five Basic Elements "Panch Maha Bhoota" with directions and/or seven chakras to relieve a stressful life, bringing peace, protection and prosperity in our lives.

Many Vastu rules are derived from 'Vastu Purusha Mandala' which is depicted as a man lying with his head pointing towards north east and his feet pointing towards south west, in a grid of squares. The different directions and sectors are assigned to different designated functions; five elements (Panch Maha Bhoota); Seven Colours (VIBGYOR) and Seven Chakras.

Seven Colours-------------------------------------------Seven Chakras of Yoga (in human body)

Violet------------------------------------------------------------------------ ‘Sahastrara’: The Crown Chakra

Indigo--------------------------------------------------------------------------------‘Agnya’: The Brow Chakra

Blue---------------------------------------------------------------------------‘Vishuddha’: The Throat Chakra

Green ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- ‘Anahata’: The Heart Chakra

Yellow ---------------------------------------------------------------------‘Naabhi’: The Solar Plexus Chakra

Orange ---------------------------------------------‘Swadhisthana’: The Sacral Chakra /Pelvic Chakra

Red ------------------------------------------------------------------------------‘Muladhara’: The Root Chakra

To maintain normal flow of energy, these chakra centres should remain balanced and functional.

Why should we consider Seven Major Chakra Centres in Vastu?

Vastu Shastra is based on the rules of Vastu Purusha Mandala. It is an indispensable part of Vastu Shastra and constitutes the mathematical and diagrammatic basis for generating design.

Here ‘Purusha’ refers to energy, power, soul or cosmic man. ‘Mandala’ is the generic name for any plan/chart, which represents the cosmos metaphysically/ symbolically, a microcosm of the Universe.

As per the theory of Yoga, the seven chakras are the energy centres in our body in which energy flows through. Blocked energy in our seven Chakras can often lead to illness. As Vastu Purusha or "Cosmic Man" is representation of a building/structure as organic life form or energy form which is made of five basic elements or Panch Maha Bhootas, it's important to understand what each Chakra represents; their location in the Mandala and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely for a healthy living and harmonised union of mind, body and cosmos.

Vastu Purusha Mandala
Vastu Purusha Mandala

What is Feng Shui?

Feng: “Fun” Shui: “Shway”

When translated, Feng means wind and Shui means water. Feng Shui is one of the many tools we use when making positive changes to our homes to create positive change in our lives. At the heart of Feng Shui is the simple idea that our homes are connected to all aspects of our wellbeing. What we put in our homes, how we decorate, and what we surround ourselves with affect us on a daily basis and influence all aspects of our lives. Therefore, if you want to make a positive change in your life, you can begin by making a positive change in your home.

What is a Bagua Map?

The Bagua Map is a powerful Feng Shui tool that helps you define and reach your dreams. In Feng Shui there are nine main areas that represent your life: Helpful People, Children and Creativity, Love and Relationships, Fame and Reputation, Wealth and Prosperity, Family, Health, Knowledge and Self-Cultivation, and Career. According to the Bagua map, each of these areas of your life directly corresponds to different areas in your home. The Bagua identifies where these areas are located. When you make positive changes in the specific areas of your home according to the Bagua Map, you can produce positive changes in that area of your life—positive changes can include clutter clearing, cleaning, or using Feng Shui principles.

Feng Shui Bagua Map
Feng Shui | Bagua Map

We always say that with Vastu and/ or Feng Shui, you can create a dream home. But when we say dream home we don’t necessarily mean how it looks like, where it is, or how big it is—we mean a home that both reflects your personality and style and supports you in reaching those dreams. A blissful home should not only contain everything you want in a space, but also everything you want in your life.

Inquire Now about mindful designs & interiors and learn how you can use these ancient wisdom to balance the energy within the space.


bottom of page